Minister f​​​or Municipa​​​lities & Local Bodies,Public Enterprises,Minorities Welfare.

Qamarul Isl​​​am:

Qamarul Islam (born 27 January 1948), generally referred as Qamar Sab, is an Indian politician who was former Member of Parliament. He served as the Cabinet Minister for Housing and Labour of Karnataka.

Qamarul Islam was born to Noorul Islam in Gulbarga. He completed his Bachelor’s in Mechanical Engineering from PDA College of Engineering, Gulbarga. He first stood elections in PDA and became the president of the students union, becoming the 1st and last Muslim student to hold the post of students union president in PDA College.

Qamarul Islam is a 5 time MLA from the state of Karnataka. He started his political career in 1978 and was elected to Karnataka Legislative Assembly during the terms 1978-83,[1] 1989-1994,[2] 1994-96,[3] 1999-2004,[4] 2008-2013 [5] and 2013. He was Member of Parliament from 1996-1998 and also the cabinet minister for Housing and Labour in the administration led by Chief Minister S.M. Krishna from October 1999 to May 2004.

He is professionally an engineer, trader and industrialist, social worker, educationist and an avid sportsperson who enjoys cricket and table tennis during his leisure time. QamarUl Islam has also chaired numerous charitable trusts.

Pe​rsonal li​​fe:

  • HazrathShaikMinhajuddin Ansari Kallerawan Charitable Trust, Running K.C.T. Engineering College, Polytechnic Colleges Gulbarga.
  • Hyderabad Karnataka Urdu Front.​
  • Meraj Noor Educational and Charitable trust running B.Ed, B. Pharma, D. Pharma& Nursing Colleges.
  • Al Qamar Nursing College

Positions held:

  • 1978-83 and 1989-96 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
  • 1979-82 and 1992-93 Member, Public Accounts Committee.
  • 1990-92 Member, Estimates Committee.
  • 1993-94 Member, Committee on Petitions, Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
  • 1994-96 Member, Committee on Housing and Urban Development, Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
  • 1996 Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh).
  • July 1996 onwards General Secretary, J.D. Parliamentary Party​