Last modified at 25/04/2017 12:16 by ksteps


 Shri M R Seetharam​​
 Minister fo​r Planning,
 Statistics, Science and Technology
 & Kodagu District Incharge

​1986 - 1997

Shri. M.R Seetharam started off by serving as Executive Member of Karnataka Pradesh Congress (I) Sevadal – 1986 and later played an active role as a worker of the Congress Party in the Organizational Elections in 1992. He also served as treasurer at Karnataka Pradesh Youth Congress (I) 1989-92 and KPCC Sevadal 1992-96. He voluntarily organized publicity during Madame Sonia Gandhis’s visit during elections in 1998 and also worked towards the success of Bengaluru North Constituency candidate C K Jaffer Sharieff in 1998 Elections.


Shri. M.R Seetharam was elected as a member of KPCC and also Elected P.C.C Member, Yeshwanthpur, in the year 1997, before that he worked very actively for the nominees of the Congress Party in the Parliamentary Elections 1989, 1996 – 98 in the Bengaluru North and South Constituencies and also worked towards the success of the Congress Party Nominees for the Assembly Elections in Yelahanka Constituency in the year 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999 and 2004. He has sponsored and organized the all India Youth Congress convention in 1989-1990.

Elected as M.L.A in October 1999 from Malleshwaram Constituency in Bengaluru City by a margin over 20,000 votes. He was entrusted with Administrator & Finance of KPCC and was the General Secretary of KPCCI. He has also worked for Congress Party Nominees for the Assembly Elections.


When the party was not in power for 03 years (1997-2000), Shri.Seetharam was in charge to run the party offices and also the in charge for Bengaluru division of Bengaluru Urban, Rural, Kolar, Tumkur, Shimoga, Davanagere, Chitradurga Districts for the Zilla Parishad elections 2000.


Shri. M.R Seetharam was elected AICC Member 2001 and was in charge of Municipality Elections. He won Five out of Seven wards in the Bengaluru City Corporation Elections held on November 11th 2001 with good majority.


Shri. M.R Seetharam has been a member of State Executive Committee from 2002- till date and served as member for Public Undertaking Committee in the Karnataka Legislature 1999 – 2007. He was the Treasurer of the Congress Legislature Party.


Shri. M.R Seetharam was re-elected as M.L.A in 2004 from Malleshwaram Constituency in Bengaluru City. He was also nominated as Academic Council Member to Bengaluru University and as Member to Common wealth Parliamentary Committee from Karnataka Legislative Assembly. He was in charge Observer of Haveri District since 2004 and was entrusted in the distribution of the Election materials in the Parliamentary Elections held in 1989, 1991, 1993 1996, 1999 and 2004,

He worked actively in all the spheres of development activities in Bengaluru City under the able stewardship of Sri. S. M. Krishna, Former Chief Minister of Karnataka


In charge Observer of Haveri District since 2004 for the Zilla Panchayat elections 2005, urban local bodies’ elections 2007 and the local member ship drive 2009 and Chief Observer for Haveri District. He was nominated as Member of the Subject Committee of Karnataka Legislature for the Health & Family Welfare Department.


Shri. M.R Seetharam was once again elected as a member of AICC, This was his last year as a member of Public Undertaking Committee in Karnataka Legislature (1999-2007).


Shri. M.R Seetharam has worked as member of KPCC Campaign Committee 2013 for the Congress Party candidates in the districts of Kolar, Tumkur, Bengaluru Rural, Bengaluru Urban & Bengaluru City in the just concluded Assembly Elections. He had been nominated as Member to Karnataka Postal Circle from Karnataka Legislature


Shri. M.R Seetharam has remained a member of state Executive Committee till date. He is one of the Donors for the installation of the Statue of our Leader Shri. Rajiv Gandhiji at Bengaluru unveiled recently by our Hon’ble President Smt. Sonia Gandhiji



KST Academy          Bangalore India Nano opens in new window          Bengaluru Science Gallery opens in new window