1. The Karnataka Irrigation Department is one of the  major department in  the  Government  of Karnataka is headed by the Hon'ble Minister for       Major and Medium Irrigation.  The Department harnesses Surface Water for Irrigation and Drinking Water Purposes.
2. The Irrigation projects are classified under three categories, as indicated below depending upon the extent of culturable command area (CCA). 
SL.No.  Category  Extent of CCA  


Major Irrigation Projects

Those having CCA of 10,000  ha or m​ore


Medium Irrigation Projects

Those having CCA between 2,000 ha to 10,000 ha


Minor Irrigation  Projects​​Those having CCA of 2,000 ha or less

3. The Department of Mines and Geology and Rural Engineering Department is responsible for the assessment and harness of groundwater           resources for various purposes respectively.  The construction, maintenance and monitoring of Minor Irrigation Projects will come under the   purview of Minor Irrigation Department. The Karnataka Power Corporation Limited is responsible for generation of Hydroelectric Power.The ​   Bangalore Water Supply and Sewerage Board are responsible for providing drinking water supply to Bangalore City. The Karnataka Urban Water     Supply and Sewerage Board is responsible for providing drinking water supply to Urban area through out the state of  Karnataka.

4. The ultimate Irrigation Potential, from all sources has been estimated as 55.00 lakh hectares.  Details are as shown below:   

Sl. No.Scheme DetailsExtent of Area in Ha.
1.Major and Medium Irrigation Projects35.00 Lakhs
2.Minor Irrigation  Projects10.00 Lakhs
3.Ground  Water Resources10.00 Lakhs


55.00 Lakhs