Yoga is a discipline to improve or develop one's inherent power in a balanced manner. It offers the means to attain complete self-realization. The literal meaning of the Sanskrit word Yoga is 'Yoke'. Yoga can therefore be defined as a means of uniting the individual spirit with the universal spirit of God. According to Maharishi Patanjali, Yoga is the suppression of modifications of the mind. 
    Yoga is one of the six systems of Vedic philosophy. Maharishi Patanjali, rightly called "The Father of Yoga compiled and refined various aspects of Yoga systematically in his "Yoga Sutras" (aphorisms) He advocated the eight folds path of Yoga, popularly known as "Ashtanga Yoga" for all-round development of human beings. They are: - Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi. These components advocate certain restraints and observances, physical discipline, breath regulations, restraining the sense organs, contemplation, meditation and samadhi. These steps are believed to have a potential for improvement of physical health by enhancing circulation of oxygenated blood in the body, retraining the sense organs thereby inducing tranquility and serenity of mind. The practice of Yoga prevents psychosomatic disorders and improves an individual's resistance and ability to endure stressful situations.

Salient features of yoga

  1. Yoga a universal practical discipline.
        Yoga is universal in character for practice and application irrespective of culture, nationality,           race, caste, creed, sex, age and physical condition.

  2. Yoga as evolutionary process
        Yoga is an evolutionary process in the development of human consciousness. Evolution of total     consciousness does not necessarily begin in any particular man rather it begins only if one           chooses it to begin.

  3. Yoga as soul therapy.
        All paths of Yoga (Japa, Karma, Bhakti etc.) have healing potential to shelter out the effects of       pains. However, one especially needs proper guidance from an accomplished exponent, who         has already treaded the same track to reach the ultimate goal.

Types of yoga

  1. Japa Yoga
  2. Karma Yoga​
  3. Gyana Yoga
  4. Bhakti Yog
  5. Raja Yoga
  6. Swara Yoga
  7. Kundalini yoga
  8. Nadi