Energy Department

Government of Karnataka

GOK > Energy Department > English > Introduction
Last modified at 07/02/2017 12:30 by gokenergy


About Energy Department

Karnataka has always given a high priority to the development of the power sector. All segments of the electricity supply chain: generation, transmission and distribution are important and all require attention. Government of Karnataka is developing the power sector through the following programmes:

  1. Expansion of power generation capacity in the State by Karnataka Power Corporation, Government of India Undertaking and other Private Power Producers.
  2. Bring down transmission and distribution losses by technical improvements and prevention of theft of electricity.
  3. Improving the quality of power supply with system improvements works.
  4. Expanding the transmission and distribution network to cover every corner of the State.
  5. Electrifying every hamlet and every house hold in the State in phased manner.
  6. Improving the efficiency of the electricity companies.
  7. Encouraging the development of renewable energy.
  8. Promoting energy conservation measures

1. Electricity Commission

Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission.

  2. Organisations under the administrative control of the Energy Department

i. Generation.

KPCL.jpgKarnataka Power Corporation Limited. 

ii. State Transmission.

Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited. 

iii. Electrical Inspectorate.

Department of Electrical Inspectorate

iv. Electricity Supply Companies and corporation:

In the year 1999, Karnataka embarked on a major reform of the power sector. As a first step, Karnataka Electricity Board (KEB) was dissolved and in its place, the Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL) was incorporated. This was followed by the constitution of Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission (KERC) in November 1999. In the next phase of the reform process, the transmission and distribution business managed by KPTCL were unbundled in June 2002. The distribution companies were formed to distribute power in Karnataka. They are:

Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited. 

Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited. 

Hubli Electricity Supply Company Limited.

Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company Limited.

 Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation. 

v. Renewable Energy Development Agency:

 Karnataka Renewable Energy Development Limited.

Karnataka Solar Power Development Corporation Ltd

Designed and Developed by: Energy Department, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion.

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo