Expenditure Reforms Commission

Government of Karnataka

GOK > Expenditure Reforms Commission

Expenditure Refund Commission

In the budget speech 2009-10, the Hon’ble Chief Minister has announced that there is need to review the expenditure in respect of Government programmes and to reduce expenditure in respect of less effective programmes and to more effectively mobilize the resources and increase the efficiency in the implementation of the programmes. In order to suggest a suitable policy, an Expenditure Review Commission consisting of experts will be constituted.
Accordingly, the proposal to constitute an Expenditure Review Commission in the State has been examined and hence the following order:

Government Order No. FD 76 Samaya 2009 dated 6.6.2009

In the circumstances stated above, it is ordered to constitute an Expenditure Review Commission in the State with the following Chairman and Members​

1.​ Shri B K Bhattacharya
Retired Chief Secretary
2. Shri Mohandas Pai, Director
(Human Resources) Infosys Ltd.
Shri G. Ramesh, Professor, 
IIM, Bangalore



3. Principal Secretary to Govt.
Finance Department
Ex-Officio Member
4. Principal Secretary to Govt.
Planning Department
Ex-Officio Member
 5. Shri R. S. Phonde Secretary (I/C)

The Commission will chalk out its own day-to-day activities. With a view to enable the Commission to submit Report early, the Commission, if need be, will constitute study groups relating to the various activities of the Government. The Commission may obtain the required information and documents. The Government Departments shall provide the Commission with the required information, documents and any assistance/co-operation that the commission seeks. The Fiscal Policy Institute shall provide the required research and logistic support to the Commission.

The Commission shall submit its report within a year. However, the Commission may send its recommendations to the Government quarterly. The Government shall take action as and when the recommendation of the Commission is received.

The Chairman and the Secretary o​​f the Commission shall function full time and others as part time members. Separate Orders in respect of the allowances and other facilities to the Chairman and Members will be issued.



By order and in the name of Governor of Karnataka
Ajay Seth
Secretary to Government (B&R)
Finance Department


Content Owned and Maintained by :Expenditure Reforms Commission, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo