​​S​​uvarna Arogya Suraksha Trust

Suvarna Arogya Suraksha Trust has been established and registered as a separate body under the aegis of Health and Family Welfare Department under the Indian Trust Act, 1882 in order to implement Suvarna Arogya Suraksha Scheme vide GO No. HFW  216 CGE 2008, Bangalore dated 20th February 2009.  For speedy and effective implementation of any new scheme / initiative of the government, operating the scheme through an independent, autonomous body will be efficacious as well as economical. With this in view, in 2009, for implementation of Vajpayee Arogyashree Health Assurance Scheme to BPL families in Karnataka, the Government of Karnataka established a ‘Special purpose Vehicle’ named as Suvarna Arogya Suraksha Trust to administer the scheme.


For policy decisions and to guide the Trust in implementing the scheme, the Trust has three governing bodies as follows:

Board of Trustees – For policy decisions

Executive Committee – For scheme implementation

Empanelment & Disciplinary Committee – For empanelment of hospitals and taking disciplinary action