Coastal Development Authority

Government of Karnataka

GOK > Karavali Praadhikara


Coastal Development Authority is

Welcome to Coastal Development Authority of Karnataka State


​Coastal Development Authority is a statutory body of the Government of Karnataka State. It was formed under Government Order No. NE 582 ..... 2008 on 08 September 2008. Coastal Development Authority is the main advisory body to the Government of Karnataka on matters pertaining to the comprehensive development of the three coastal revenue districts of Karnataka, namely Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Uttara Kannada.

Read More.....



Dakshina Kannada District:

Dakshina Kannada district has an area 4,866 square kilometres, and a population of 18,97,000 with density of 390 persons per square kilometre. There are 354 villages in the district. Mangalore is the headquarters and chief city of the district. The district is divided into five talukas, Mangalore, Bantwal, Puttur, Sullia, and Belthangady. Important towns in Dakshina Kannada include Mangalore, Bantwal,Vittal, Puttur, Sullia, Moodabidri, Kadaba, Surathkal, Mulki and Dharmasthala. The major rivers are Netravathi, Kumaradhara, Phalguni, Shambhavi, Nandini or Pavanje and Payaswini which all join Arabian sea.



Udupi District:

Udupi district consists of three taluks: Udipi, Karkala and Kundapura. The administrative headquarters of Udupi district is Udupi town. The district has a population of 11,12,000. Udupi is also one of oldest Educational Centres. Manipal near Udupi is a world famous centre for professional education. Udupi has a literacy rate of 92%, high compared to other districts of Karnataka. Malpe is a famous fishing harbour of Udupi district. Udupi town is famous for being the birthplace of Sri Madhwacharya and Sri Krishna Temple. St. Mary’s Island is a well known tourist attraction.



Uttara Kannada District:

Uttar Kannada District has an area of 10,250 square kilometres (3,960 sq mi) and population of 13,53,000 with density of 132 /km2 (342 /sq mi). The town of Karwar is the administrative headquarters of the district. The main geographic feature of the district is the Western Ghats or Sahyadri range, which runs from north to south through the district. Four principal rivers drain westwards from the crest of the Sahyadris to the sea; from north to south they are the Kali, Gungawali, Aghanashini and Sharavati. The district's high rainfall supports lush forests, which cover approximately 70% of the district.


Content Owned and Maintained by :Coastal Development Authority, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo