Karnataka State Coastal Zone Management Authority

Government of Karnataka

GOK > ksczma > English
​Karnataka State Coastal Zone Management Authority


     Karnataka State Coastal Zone Management Authority has been constituted by the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate change, Government of India in exercise of the power conferred under sub-section (1) and (3) of section (3) of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 to regulate and perform the function as stipulated in CRZ Notification 2011. The Authority has the mandate to take measures for protection and improving the quality of the coastal environment. The mandate also includes preventing, abating and controlling environmental pollution in the coastal regulation zones of Karnataka State. The Authority is conferred with the powers to examine the proposals for change or modification in the classification of coastal regulation zone, enquire into cases of alleged violation of the provisions of the Environment Protection Act and to review the cases involving violations of the provisions of CRZ Notification 2011.

 The Authority functions under the Chairpersonship of the Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Forest, Ecology and Environment Department, Government of Karnataka and has head quarters at Bangalore.  The special Director (Technical Cell), Department of Forest Ecology and Environment is the Member Secretary of the Authority.  The Department of Ecology and Environment provides secretarial assistance to the Authority. The District Coastal Management Committees in the three coastal districts of Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Uttara kannada assist the Authority in discharging the mandatory functions of the Authority.



Visitors: 11904
Last modified at 07/03/2019 15:22 by System Account

Content Owned and Maintained by :Karnataka State Coastal Zone Management Authority, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo