GOK > Medical Education Secretariat > Educational-Institutions

Educational Institutions

        Sixteen Autonomous Medical Colleges at Bangalore, Mysore, Hubli, Bellary, Hassan, Shivamogga, Mandya, Bidar, Belgaum, Raichur Gulbarga, Gadag, Koppal Karwarand Chamarajanagar and 2 autonomous Dental Colleges at Bangalore and Bellary, are functioning in the state independently under the direct control of the State Government along with the already existing  11 Autonomous Super Speciality Institutions and are catering  to the academic needs in varied fields of medicine and nursing.

Autonomous Medical Institutions:

The following 27 Autonomous Medical Institutions coming under Medical Education Department are functioning independently, each one headed by a Director, under the direct control of the Government.

      Autonomous Medical colleges:

  1. Bangalore Medical College & Research Institute, Bangalore.
  2. Mysore Medical College & Research Institute, Mysore.
  3. Vijayanagar Institute of Medical Sciences (VIMS), Bellary.
  4. Karnataka Institute of Medical Sciences (KIMS), Hubli.
  5. Mandya Institute of Medical Sciences, Mandya.
  6. Hassan Institute of Medical Sciences, Hassan.
  7. Shivamogga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shivamogga.
  8. Raichur Institute of Medical Sciences, Raichur. 
  9. Belgaum Institute of Medical Sciences, Belgaum.
  10. Bidar Institute of Medical Sciences, Bidar.
  11. Gadag Institute of Medical Sciences, Gadag.
  12. Gulbarga Institute of Medical Sciences, Gulbarga.
  13. Koppal Institute of Medical Sciences, Koppal.
  14. Chamarajanagara Institute of Medical Sciences, Chamarajanagara.
  15. Kodagu  Institute of Medical Sciences, Madikeri.
  16. Karwar Institute of Medical Sciences, Karwar

Autonomous Dental colleges:

  1. Government Dental College & Research Centre, Bangalore.
  2. Government Dental College & Research Centre, Bellari

Super Speciality Hospitals:

  1. S.D.S. & Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Chest Diseases, Bengaluru.
  2. Sri Jayadeva Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences & Research, Bengaluru.
  3. KIDWAI Memorial Institute of Oncology, Bengaluru.
  4. Indira Gandhi Institute of Child Health, Bengaluru.
  5. Institute of Nephro-Urology, Bengaluru.
  6. Karnataka Institute of Endocrinology & Research Institute , Bengaluru.
  7. PMSSY Super Speciality Hospital, Bengaluru.
  8. Rajiv Gandhi Super Speciality Hospital OPEC, Raichur.
  9. Trauma Care Center,Victoria Hospital Campus, Bengaluru.
  10. National Mental Health & Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru.
  11. Dharward Institute of Medical Sciences, Dharward

        There are 11 Govt.Nursing Colleges and 12 Govt.Nursing Schools under the control of Medical Education Department. Out of this 7 Nursing Schools are under the direct administrative control of the Director of Medical Education.  Para - Medical Board and a Nursing Examination Board are functioning in the State independently under the Chairpersonship of the Director of Medical Education. 

Nursing Colleges:

  1. Govt. Nursing College, Bangalore.
  2. Govt. Nursing College, Hassan.
  3. Govt. Nursing College, Holenarasipura.
  4. Govt. Nursing College,       Kidwai Cancer Institute, Bangalore
  5. Govt. Nursing College, DIMHANS, Dharwad
  6. Govt. Nursing College, Gulbarga.
  7. Govt. Nursing College, Hubli.
  8. Govt. Nursing College, Bellary.
  9. Govt. Nursing College, Belgaum.
  10. Govt.Nursing College, Mysore.
  11. Govt.SDS. Nursing College, Bangalore.

     Government Nursing Schools:
  1. Nursing School, Victoria Hospital, Bangalore.
  2. Nursing School, Bowring & Lady Curzon Hospital, Bangalore.
  3. Nursing School, District Hospital, Chitradurga.
  4. Nursing School, Chigateri General Hospital, Davanagere.
  5. Nursing School, District Hospital, Belgaum.
  6. Nursing School, District Hospital, Bijapur.
  7. Nursing School, District Hospital, Gulbarga.
  8. Nursing School, K.R. Hospital, Mysore. 
  9. Nursing School, District Wenlock Hospital, Mangalore.
  10. Nursing School, Bellary.
  11. Nursing School, Tumkur.
  12. Nursing School, Haveri.
  13. Nursing School, Hubbli.
Last modified at 01/02/2018 12:19 by System Account

Content Owned and Maintained by :Karnataka Medical Education Secretariat, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo